How to create a basic plugin [Part 1]

Denic

Supporter
INTRODUCTION
Hello, in this thread I will be teaching you the ground basics of Nukkit plugin development. Now because this isn't a Java tutorial, I expect that you have a good understanding of Java. As a plugin developer, I get questions daily asking how I create plugins and how to do specific things. So in this thread I will be giving out all my knowledge to you guys so it makes my life easier. Now that that's out of the way, lets get started.

SETUP
Now the first thing you need is an IDE. I personally use Eclipse but there are many other IDE's since there is not a required IDE. Now download the latest version of Nukkit from here or add the dependency to your Maven. I strongly recommend using Maven or Gradle because you will get the latest Nukkit version without having to download multiple files. You can learn how to setup Maven for Nukkit here. Now that you have setup your IDE you can now start to write your code! Create a new project and add Nukkit to your Java build path (properties>>Java Build Path>>Libraries>>Aadd External JAR for Eclipse). Now create a file in the base directory of your plugin called plugin.yml. This is where your plugins information will be stored. the YML fomats are for YAML, a coding language made for configuration files. You can read more about YAML! Now a standard YML looks like this:
YAML:
name: TutorialPlugin
version: "1.0"
api: ["1.0.0"]
author: Civiled
description: A basic plugin for NukkitX
main: com.civiled.TutorialPlugin.main
CODE